Offered for sale by:

Brown, George Mackay Hawkfall and Other Stories , London: Hogarth Press, 1974

First edition. Blue cloth, gilt Pagination: 220. Though these stories are primarily entertainments, they are also studies in depth of a community. George Mackay Brown lives in the Orkneys, surrounded by sea and sky, where time has an altogether different nature and significance from time in the cities. ‘In Orkney’, wrote Edwin Muir, ‘the lives of living men turn into legend.’ And legend, though active in time, is timeless. The rich history of the islands – the succession of neolithic man, Pict, Norseman, Scot – has had a deep effect on the modern islander. The author writes about contemporary Orkneymen, but also about the Orkneymen, but also about the Orkneymen of 500 years ago and those of 4,000 years ago as if they were contemporaries, for the same lineaments are discernible in them.<P>Hawkfall, perhaps the central story of this finely integrated collection, traces a typical island attitude through the vicissitudes, violences, hypocrisies of many generations. The legendary element, in all its power, is never far away. In The Drowned Rose the ghosts of dead lovers, still in love with the things of this world, mix with the living, while Sealskin explores the relationship between legend, art and life.. Book: head/tail sl bumped, leading edge of rear board sl bumped, slight darkening to upper edge of boards, small dent to rear board, VG, Jacket: clipped, rear cover sl yellowed, light edge creasing, VG (Book ref. 2919 )  £ 28.00

The payment methods accepted by the seller, , are shown in the right-hand column.

Offered for sale by:
Contact: Fergus Smith
Address: 9 Howard Street
Phone: 0131 556 9403
Returns: Full refund for all items not as described. Other returns subject to buyer paying return postage. Please contact us within 8 working days of receipt.
Shipping: UK: Free International: Please contact for details
Payment: Cheque Paypal Cash on collection
Specialities: Scotland
Status: Bookdealer
View all this seller's books